I Quit Dentistry and I DIDN’T Die: My Story of Leaving Dental School and Enjoying my New Path

It is time for me to tell you my story of leaving dentistry, a dream career for many people. Laura from Lolabees Career Coaching has just recorded a podcast episode interviewing me about my experience of leaving dental school. It is not possible to include all the details in one podcast episode, so I would like to write a blog post about my journey into and out of dental school. This will be a long post so be prepared.

20180504_1130332084881411.jpg
A lovely hike to Mont Royal on my last day of my exchange tour in Montreal

As my exchange semester at McGill University in Montreal in Canada comes to an end now, it marks the two-year anniversary of me leaving dentistry. I was a dental student in The University of Hong Kong (HKU) Faculty of Dentistry. It was a 6-year Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) program. I was supposed to graduate in the year 2019, but I transferred to the Bachelor of Arts (BA) program halfway through my dental degree.

After three years of studying dentistry, I realized that I was not happy doing the work of a dentist. It took a lot of thinking, self-doubt, analysis and emotional turmoil for me to reach my decision of ending my journey in the world of dentistry.

Every day when I went to school, I was hit by the anxiety and stress from meeting patients and providing treatments for them under my clinical tutor’s supervision. It is normal to expect clinical work to be difficult, but I never knew I would feel so defeated and scared. My feeling of incompetence in treating patients arose from my lack of sufficient theoretical knowledge. I believe that it was partly due to my school’s teaching style.

Problem with my dental school’s curriculum

My school had a Problem-Based Learning (PBL) curriculum. Every two weeks, students engage in a small-group tutorial to discuss a new case of dental or medical patient scenario. Signs and symptoms experienced by a patient would be presented. We would then brainstorm the gaps of our knowledge and list the learning issues of that week’s problem. For example, when we see a problem talking about patient with diabetes mellitus, we would find out the causes, the signs and symptoms, the treatment options and the correlation of diabetes with oral health.

After the first tutorial, students are expected to learn the theories and find reference books on their own. Complementary lectures were a rarity. There were normally two to three lectures within every two weeks. The amount of lecture time reduces as the year goes by, and the clinical placement and simulation laboratory practice hours increase accordingly.

At the end of the two weeks, the group will gather together for a second tutorial to present what they learnt. This PBL curriculum has its pros and cons. Students are fully responsible for what they read and the things they learn, but the danger lies in this autonomy. The professors would not find out whether the students have learnt anything during the week.

I remember spending a lot of time trying to read all the relevant information, but it was too time-consuming and time as a dental student was the most expensive currency. I lost sleep over reading materials and ended up not being able to finish every learning issue I was supposed to research on. Eventually, I gave up trying to learn all the things that I was supposed to know and just read as much as I could to pass the exams so that I will have time to sleep and stay sane.

However, passing written exams is simply the first hoop to jump through in dentistry. Dental school is all about the clinical placement. We started to treat our own patients since the second semester of Year 2. By Year 3, I was working in the dental hospital’s clinic twice a week. I feel that dental students were not given enough support and resources to do the clinical work. The clinical tutor was very busy during each three-hour clinical session because he/she has to deal with eight to nine patients of ours besides listening to our case presentation and answering our questions. It was very demanding for our clinical tutor and we as dental students could not learn effectively. I had to do a lot of procedure that I had very little idea about on a real patient. Usually, I had only seen the tutor demonstrated once before performing it on a patient’s tooth. This was frightening because I always did not know what I was doing but I had to do it anyway. Asking the tutor for the rationale behind the procedure would mean I did not study hard enough because the tutors expect us to know the theories and to have read the relevant textbooks.

To be honest, most of my classmates did not read real textbooks. They only read concise notes passed down by senior students. The notes consisted of the facts and step-by-step procedure of treatments, but the theories behind are often missing. I thought that this practice of reading summary notes without referring to reliable reference book was being irresponsible to my patients. Therefore, I tried my best to read the books to understand the theories. However, time was just too short to study and know all the answers to the problems arisen from clinical work.

Struggling in dental school was like walking on a tight rope. Even though I was falling behind in my studies, I had to catch up while attending classes and seeing patients. I was doing the bare minimum so that I would do no harm to my patients and manage to pass the examinations. It was increasingly impossible and exhausting as my third year of dental school begins. I was bombarded by the thought that I was not worthy and incompetent to become a dentist daily. I was always anxious, irritable, depressed and had extremely low self-esteem. I even broke into tears several times and had to hide away in the washroom to wash my face and calm myself. My surgical mask and dental loupes helped conceal my swollen, puffy eyes and the uncontrollable tears that dropped while I was practising in the laboratory.

I hit my rock bottom. At the same time, I gained so much weight because I was chronically stressed, sleep-deprived, depressed and would drink sugary drinks to make myself happy temporarily and escape from the pain I felt when school was so overwhelming. I felt like a zombie every day when I commute to the dental hospital. The changing room and the simulation laboratory of the dental hospital became a living hell. Meeting patients and giving them treatments was the worst because I had to act confident on the outside but I felt absolutely anxious and horrified of doing harm to them. All I wanted to do when I was in the hospital was to escape from it. All of these were in my head while my legs were unable to move and walk out of the place since I felt tied down by my obligations to continue on being a dental student.

At the time, I could not imagine not becoming a dentist. As you will find out from the podcast interview at Lolabeees, becoming a medical professional to help cure diseases and relieve the pain of the patients had been my dream since I was 11 years old. My mother passed away due to lung cancer, and her death sparked my idea of becoming a doctor to help heal others who had to suffer like my mother.

Although I was one grade short of being admitted into the Faculty of Medicine of the two universities which provide the medicine programs, I got into dental surgery thinking that I would be helping patients and it would not be that big of a difference. I entered dental school mainly due to how the system of university admission works instead of by my choice. Looking back on my experience of entering dental school as a second choice because of my failure to enter medical school, I wish I knew that it was unwise because I did not have enough understanding and real-life experience of dentistry to invest 6 years of time and tuition into pursuing the career of a dentist.

If you are an 18-year-old from Hong Kong who is considering to enter the BDS program of HKU, which has been ranked as the best dental school in the world for several years by QS World University Rankings, please learn from my mistake, do more research and seek out dentist-shadowing opportunities before applying for it. You will be glad that you have done this.

By the way, although HKU is ranked as the best dental school in the world, there is no correlation between the quality of the teaching with its world ranking because the factors evaluated by QS World University Rankings do not include teaching quality, curriculum design or things of that matter. Please do not let the title fool you. In my opinion, you may be disappointed when you realize that the world’s best dental school is not as heavenly as it sounds.

Life after quitting dental school mid-way

When I was stuck in a rut and feeling like a zombie in dental school, I thought the world would end when I give up becoming a dentist. Guess what? It didn’t. Actually, it is much better and I can finally be happy with myself after quitting dental school.

Whilst being myself was never enough in dental school, I feel liberated and an increase in self-esteem and confidence when I transferred to study in the BA program. It was frowned upon to ask questions in dentistry because the professors often assume that you already know. I felt like I was teaching myself how to become a dentist instead of being guided.

However, in studying arts, I can freely raise questions, discuss my topic of interest and the teachers encourage that. The learning atmosphere in BA is much more vibrant and motivated than in dental school where people feel mostly trapped and antagonistic towards the school and the lessons they need to attend.

Currently, I am majoring in both English Studies and French. English Studies allow me to study literature and communication which have been my side hobbies and passion. I shoved them aside for many years to squeeze more time to pursue my medical career dream. I am also a foreign language and culture lover. Since I was 14 years old, I have learnt Japanese and French during summer holidays and I loved them.

The French saying “on revient toujours à ses premières amours” is very true. People always return to their first loves. My first loves are in fact English literature and foreign language. I just met another charming guy called Dentistry who is rich, charming but is incompatible with me.

Ending my dental career is like breaking up with a toxic boyfriend, healing and finding myself, and now having a new relationship with someone I love who makes me happy and feel free instead of trapped.

It is only normal that I share the same anxiety of many arts students. What should I do when I graduate? What job would I find ? Where would I like to work at ? To be honest, I have no idea.

Dentistry was such a set career path that I did not have to think about what to do after graduation. BA means I can do a large variety of jobs in the world. My communication skills and my expertise in English and French language and culture mean that I could work in any part of the world.

Recently, I am learning Norwegian alongside French as a hobbie because I met a wonderful girl from Norway in my French class who has become a very good friend of mine during my exchange semester at McGill Unviersity. I am open to all the opportunities in the world now. It is scary and exciting at the same time.

Despite the uncertainty of my future career path, I feel so much more hopeful about my future than when I was in dental school thinking how the miserable life of a dentist is going to be the rest of my life.

I will always be grateful that I had the chance to experiment with and study dentistry. Without it, I would not be as wise and as mature as I am today. It makes me cherish my current studies which are very enjoyable and challenging at times. The fact that I survived and passed all the exams in the three years of dental school gives me confidence in overcoming the difficulties I encounter now.

What do the other people think?

You maybe wondering what do the other people think about my decision to leave dental school. I will just be frank. It is tough.

My dad is still disappointed in me and always remind me that I failed to finish something that I started doing. He is also skeptical and pessimistic about the uncertainty of my future career and the much smaller average income of a BA graduate in comparison to that of a dentist. Many relatives and older people from church are judgmental about my career change.

My closest friends are supportive of me in choosing a new path which is healthier and more fulfilling for me, though they ask me sometimes whether I regret my choice.

Most of my classmates in dental school did not really talk to or contact me after I left. They have always been too occupied with dental training, and so school is probably the same without my presence.

Nevertheless, I am so grateful that I did find a few good friends in dental school who I still meet up with on a monthly or bi-monthly basis. Their sharing of stories of struggling in dental school reminds me that I have made the right choice to quit after Year 3 instead of later when I would have been too invested to leave. When you leave a place, you will find out the difference between true friends and mere acquaintances.

One of the greatest lessons I learnt from leaving dental school is that regardless of what the other people think, you need to make your own choice in life because you are the one who lives your own life, not them. You need to face your own reality and decide what is best for you instead of being affected by the others’ opinions. It is way easier said than done. My counsellor helped me see through my tendency to be influenced by the others and led me to think clearly and make the right choice for myself.

All I want to say is…

There is no guarantee that life is easy. My life after quitting dental school has been full of new possibilities and self-doubts about uncertainties. It will never be perfectly smooth and I need to learn to take responsibility of my life, create my dream life, work hard, play hard and watch how the future unfolds for me.

If you have any questions, feel free to comment below or email me at justbeingmect@gmail.com. I will try my best to answer them and help as many people as possible who is struggling with dental school. You can also hear me share my story on Lolabees Career Coaching podcast. If you have a similar story, please share with me. You may also want to check out Lolabees Career Coaching’s blog which helped me so much when I was considering quitting dentistry.

10 thoughts on “I Quit Dentistry and I DIDN’T Die: My Story of Leaving Dental School and Enjoying my New Path

  1. This is a great addition to your interview! It’s funny you mention catching up in dental school. I remember we had 1 or 2 tests every day, so you could never really study in advance for a test. If you had 2, you had to study for both the night before. In some classes we got access to old tests and just studied those because we didn’t have time after being in class or clinic from 8-5. I can see how your curriculum and what I mentioned can make it pretty hard to truly learn the content.

    It’s so interesting that you feel you have more opportunities now than you did in Dentistry. It’s very common for dentists to feel they have no other skills, and in turn no other opportunities. It’s all a state of mind, isn’t it? And your experiences have taught you that.

    I love how you describe no regrets– it has taught you to appreciate what you have now along with many other life tools!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I cannot imagine having to revise for tests every day in dental school when classes are from 8-5. It sounds humanly impossible, but dental students are like ninjas who have to fight all these battles and tackle the demanding tasks.

      I used to feel that three years of dental school has taken all my other skills and interests away, but after having started learning new things in the arts program, I realize that my potentials were just waiting for the time to bloom. I never lost any talents or skills. I just need to pick them up.

      It is important to appreciate what I have and how far I have come. I am looking forward to new possibilities and direction. You will always be my inspiration, Lolabees!

      Like

  2. Found you through Lolabees! Just want to say how proud I am of you for choosing this route. I don’t know about Hong Kong, but I know in the United States, perseverance, endurance and not quitting is highly prized over quitting. I’ve listened to your interview with Lolabees and I love that you were able to discern early on that dentistry was not for you. It takes courage to raise your hand and say that you are struggling.
    Bravo to you and your future! I am also a currently a practicing dentist but I plan to transition out of dentistry as well. I’ve been practicing for the past 3 years and after a practice buy fell through, I realized it was a blessing in disguise. I plan to pursue my passion in chocolate art and open my business soon! Check my page out for my work.
    Rooting for you, friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Belinda! Thank you very much for listening to my podcast interview with Lolabees and reading my blog post. As in the US, people look down on quitting in Hong Kong, especially for the older people and relatives and when I was quitting halfway through something. However, upon discussion with my academic advisor and my counsellor, I realized that it was wiser to quit when I knew that I would not want to work as a dentist even if I graduate from the program. The three more years of dental school could be better spent on studying something that would contribute to my future career instead of just struggling and barely graduating dental school and then never work as a registered dentist.

      It takes a lot of courage to end the chapter of dentistry and start something new. I am proud of you too. As you have already got your license, you can always go back to working as a dentist part-time if you need to for financially supporting your life. You will always have something to fall back to even if the new paths are not as suitable with you as you imagined. The key is to keep trying, take one step at a time and be open to new adventures ahead.

      I wish you all the best in your chocolate art business. Your chocolates look beautifully minimalistic and delicate. I love looking at them and I would love to taste them too. I look forward to buying chocolate from you.

      All the best for your new endeavers! We can do it, girl!

      Like

  3. Dear CT,

    I came to your blog through the lolabee website and I am surprised that one of my ex-junior wrote this! ( I really appreciate your insights about our school’s teaching system.)

    I am reading this because after practising a while, I knew dentistry wasn‘t for me. I changed job, I tried to work 3 days a week to reduce stress but still I decided to quit dentistry to take a sabbatical, I don’t know if I will return to dentistry part time because I have to support myself financially in the long term.

    Indeed making such a move involves lots of self doubt, thinking why my peers are doing fine and it’s me who can’t stand the stress, and people will think I am nuts because I work part time to earn a high wage and is still leaving the dentistry.

    I am so proud of your courage to make such move and sharing your experience with others! The precious years in our twenties is a waste if we are trapped in life we don’t enjoy. All the best to your future!

    C. from hk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear C. from hk,

      Thank you very much for your comments. It is courageous of you to share your story of struggle as a graduated, practising dentist. I am happy that you found Lolabees and me. How lucky I am to meet a former senior from the same school here. (Hello 師兄/師姐 :D) Her blog helped me a lot when I was hesitating about the leap from dentistry into the unknown future. I hope my story could make you feel less alone in this difficult situation.

      I feel your pain in doubting yourself and comparing yourself to your peers. I did too, and perhaps still do sometimes when I meet with friends who are still studying dentistry and are about to graduate. It is especially hard to leave the dental field because the salary is very high compared to other careers. The opinions of the others are also some triggers for doubting our inner voice. No matter what the other people think, we need to learn to trust our instinct and choose the happier path for ourselves.

      After leaving dentistry behind for almost 3 years now, I have discovered a big world out there where new passions awaits being discovered. I remember during one of the first lectures in dental school, one of our professors told us there are a big part of knowledge in this world which belongs to the category of “we don’t know what we don’t know”. Before I left dentisty, I did not know the world would be so full of opportunities as the dental school training made me think that I only knew how to be a dentist. However, I have found a lot of interesting things to learn about and possibly pursue for my career. Some examples of the unknown territories for me are the French language and culture, and the numerous career options available after graduation.

      Based on your comment, I am guessing you are still in your twenties like me. We are still so young, too young to let our enthusiasm for life be slowly buried alive by a job that is incompatible with us. I have seen people who go back to school to pursue a completely different career after they have started working. A nurse turned into a lawyer by finishing the part-time Juris Doctor program, an arts degree graduate turned into a social worker by studying a master degree… The opportunities and possibilities are limitless.

      Currently, I am in the last semester of my arts degree and am looking for a graduate job. There are many possible paths and sometimes I feel a bit unsure about what my next journey should be. I guess you are also looking for a new direction like me too. I sincerely hope that both of us will find the right path for us. The lesson for us to learn during this phase of life is to be patient and to try out new things as much as possible. I wish you all the best and please update us on your progress when possible. I’m looking forward to hear from you again soon.

      Good luck,
      CT
      Your ex-junior from dental school

      Like

  4. Thankyou for sharing your story. Im a 4th year dentistry now. I’m really thinking about finishing my bachelor without taking the professional education. I got depressed from 2nd semester, and when I was 5th semester I see therapist, until now. I had suicidal thought and I did selfharm for many times. I don’t wanna be a dentistry student actually, I’m not interested and I know this is not what I want to do. I love design, business and creative industry, but my mom forced me to be a civil servant or someone who work in medicine. I try my best to accept and to love it. I dunno why I always feel empty, anxiety and depressed all the time. I’m so tired with all of it😭 but in the other hand I don’t wanna make my parents disappointed 😭 Now I found out what I really wanna do and I want to quit from here. After I read your story, I’m sure this is the right path to choose. Thankyou.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Nia! Thank you for your comments. Sorry for the late reply. How are things going for you? Please take your time to consider your career change. My story is just for reference.

      If dental school makes you feel so depressed, I believe it is not worth it. We should not need to suffer so much for a job and lose everything else in our life for the money or stability of being a dentist. No matter what you choose, believe that there will always be countless options and the world is huge. Dentistry is not everything there is. I know the family pressure plays a significant part in your decision. Remember to live your own life. If you leave dentistry, it will take you years to prove to your family that you can thrive and succeed in other domains outside of dentistry. Be prepared for that. Ultimately, if you can find a job and move out of your parents’ home, you will not feel like you need to prove anything to anyone as long as you are happy. Even if you keep doing dentistry, you will also need to keep working hard and face new challenges as you gain experience and handle cases of new patients.

      Therefore, take your time to think about your future and discuss with your therapist. Please seek emotional support. Mental health is absolutely important and professional help could do wonders when you are making big decisions like this. I wish you all the best! Take care!

      CT

      Like

  5. I can relate!! My university is also ranked the best for dentistry in my country and i learn by PBL too. Really hate it because as u said, i cant really ask anything because our teacher thought i didnt read enough. Never seen my teacher do any drilling in real patient, or at least show how to sit and position ourselves to see dark holes and various sides of teeth in the mouth. I kept going for 8 years and finally graduated because i dont have any choices (not good at any other field, no passion as well). Rn im trying to do practices (6 times) and still not loving it, so im looking for non clinical jobs :”) i really feel you.. i wish, people like us (i also find others on the internet to validate my situation and feeling) can connect and encourage each other.. lots of love ♡♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Vey! Thank you very much for your comments and sharing. Dr. Lola Bees inspired me to blog about my experience and I think her blog will help you too. I need to update my blog soon, but my life after leaving dentistry is good so far. I work in finance now.

      Kudos to you for pushing through and graduating dental school. It must have been a lot of blood, sweat and tears. I hope you can find a non-clinical career that you enjoy. Pharmaceutical companies? Companies that innovate dental equipments? Keep going and trying more things until you find something you like! You can do this!

      Lots of love to you from Hong Kong,
      CT

      Like

Leave a comment